We had an absolutely awesome day of go-kart racing in Week 8! This was the 6th time Mueller College had entered the ‘Interschool OnGuard Safety Karting Challenge’ with our Year 9 and 10 Industrial Technology students competing. This was the smoothest running of the day we have experienced.

The competition is an extra-curricular activity, which means that the students and staff involved complete all of the work outside of school time. It is a significant commitment for the students, but the rewards are well worth their effort.

The competition is an opportunity for students to learn fabrication and automotive skills while experiencing problem solving, driving and team work challenges. It is a tangible way that students can both ‘Belong and Contribute’ and ‘Grow and Thrive’.

It gives me great pleasure to announce that our Year 9 team placed 2nd overall. The Year 9 team was on equal points with one of the Marist College’s teams with one race to go in the afternoon, but in the end the Marist College Red Bull Racing team were able to secure victory.

Jai Bidmead and Kaleb Henry were able to win their individual races and both received trophies as a part of their team’s success. All students from the 10 teams were given medallions to remember the day. We couldn’t be more proud of how all of the students came together and participated on the day.

The schools involved were Mueller College, Sandgate District SHS, Marist College Ashgrove and Bray Park SHS. Nudgee College, St Pauls Anglican, and Hemmant Flexischool school pulled out this year due to team issues but will be back next year in addition to Holland Park SHS.

It was exciting to see lots of parents out there as well. A special thanks to the following;

Peter Kirakov and Rowan Watson (the teachers who supervised the Mueller College teams at the race)
Electric Fever (Mueller College Go Kart Racing sponsors)
Keith Dean (for helping the students prepare their go-karts for the event)
We can’t run a day like this without their help.

Grade 9 Team

Jai Bidmead
Kaleb Henry
Hudson Parcell
Kasiah Salisnew
Bodhi Wallen

Grade 10 Team

Billy Baker
Jordan Dean
Ethan Priem
Olivia Salisbury
Kamariya Shewpersad

Chris Gator – Technologies Department